Asian Wrestling Championship: India finishes 8th with 16 medals!

India finishes eighth in the Asian Wrestling Championship that held in Xian, China with a total of 16 medals which included eight (one gold, three silver and four bronze) won by men’s freestyle wrestlers, four bronze by women and three silver and one bronze by Greco-Roman wrestlers.

It was India’s best performance compared to the last two years where India managed only eight medals in 2018 and 12 medals in 2017.

This year, it was Bajrang Punia won a gold medal after defeating Kazakhstan’s Sayatbek Okassov by 12-7 in 65kg men’s freestyle category.

On the other hand, Harpreet managed to win his fourth consecutive Asian Championship medal despite going down in the final.

The medal winners are:

Bajrang Punia


Amit Dhankar
Gurpreet Singh
Sunil Kumar
Harpreet Singh
Parveen Rana


Rajender Kumar
Sakshi Malik
Vinesh Bhogat
Divya Kakran
Rahul Aware
Satyavrat Kadian
Deepak Punia