Cricket Women Cricket

ICC awards: Perry wins big; 4 Indians in ICC ODI team, 3 in T20I team

Undoubtedly, Ellyse Perry had a year to remember in all the three formats of the game and thus picked up the prestigious Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year. She also grabbed the ODI player of the year award. 

Perry averages 73+ in the ODIs this year and also picked up 21 wickets with a national record 7 for 22. 

She also became the first player to score 1000 T2OI runs and grab 100 wickets. 

On the other hand, Allysa Healy smashed the fastest T20I hundred by an Australian this year and she was terrific throughout the year. Thus, picked up the T20I player of the year award.

Thailand’s medium-pacer Chanida Sutthiruang, who picked 12 wickets at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier was the emerging player of the year.

In the ODI team of the year, four of the Indian players made it to the team whereas, three of them got into the T20I team. Smriti Mandana is the only Indian to get into both the teams this year. 

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year: 1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia, 2. Smriti Mandhana – India, 3. Tamsin Beaumont – England, 4. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia, 5. Stafanie Taylor – West Indies, 6. Ellyse Perry – Australia, 7. Jess Jonassen – Australia, 8. Shikha Pandey – India, 9. Jhulan Goswami – India, 10. Megan Schutt – Australia, 11. Poonam Yadav – India.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year: 1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia, 2. Danielle Wyatt – England, 3. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia, 4. Smriti Mandhana – India, 5. Lizelle Lee – South Africa, 6. Ellyse Perry – Australia, 7. Deepti Sharma – India, 8. Nida Dar – Pakistan, 9. Megan Schutt – Australia, 10. Shabnim Ismail – South Africa, 11. Radha Yadav – India.

Related posts

Hardik Pandya ruled out of New Zealand Test series

Gomesh Shanmugavelayutham

Chris Gayle named Vice-captain to West Indies World Cup squad


Amla edges out Hendricks in South Africa’s World Cup squad