Cricket IPL Men Cricket


IPL 2008- Rajasthan Royals


Captained by Shane Warne, the first of the IPL 11 saw Rajasthan Royals conquering the known opponents, the Chennai Super Kings. Termed as the underdogs in the tournament, Royals played with some impressive young talents that led the team to a massive victory.

Thanks to Yusuf Pathan’s three-wickets, CSK managed to score only 163 with Raina being the top-scorer at 43. Pathan didn’t stop there, he scored a match-winning knock of 56 from 39 deliveries.

IPL 2009- Deccan Chargers


The defunct team was the strongest during IPL 2009. It was a team effort to be honest, with Rohit Sharma being the top-performer. The Hitman who was relatively new, made heads turn with his useful contributions both with bat and ball.

In the final, Deccan Chargers took on Bangalore. Kumble’s four-for saw Deccan Chargers struggle, and they managed only 143 on the board. The bowlers of Deccan Chargers gave the team an impressive victory as Bangalore managed only 137 in their 20 overs. This probably is the only time where a player from losing side was awarded the man of the match.

IPL 2010- Chennai Super Kings


When CSK and MI lock horns, it is like a treat to watch for everyone. This match had nothing less.

Raina’s masterclass knock of 57 off 33 deliveries helped CSK to put on a total of 168.

Chasing the total, Sachin Tendulkar’s 46 went in vain as there wasn’t much contribution from the other end. Mumbai fell 22 runs short of the target, and CSK held the trophy for the first time.

IPL 2011- Chennai Super Kings


CSK defended their title successfully. Murali Vijay (95) and Hayden (63) gave CSK a flying start, added 159 for the first wicket, and CSK went on to score 205.

Ashwin and Jakati provided the important breakthroughs to guide CSK home as RCB managed only 147. This IPL marked as one of the best seasons for Chris Gayle.

IPL 2012-Kolkata Knightriders


Chennai Super Kings top-order fired with Raina being the top-scorer once again at 73. The defending champions put on a total of 190.

Though CSK got breakthroughs early, they failed to break the partnership between Kallis and Bisla and in the end, KKR chased down the target in 19.4.

This was the season that saw the rise of many IPL legends today, Sunil Narine, the player of the series was one of them.

IPL 2013- Mumbai Indians


It was yet another MI v CSK clash.

Though Bravo’s four-for rattled Mumbai Indians, Pollard’s 60 led the team to a decent total of 148.

Rohit Sharma used six bowlers, and everyone got at least a wicket and that destroyed CSK’s hopes of winning the trophy. Though Dhoni scored 63 and stood there unbeaten, CSK fell 22 runs short of the total.

IPL 2014-Kolkata Knightriders


 Saha’s 115 to power Punjab to 199 went in vain as KKR chased down the total with ease, thanks to Pandey’s 94. It was Piyush Chawla’s 5-ball 13 that led the team to victory.

Karanveer Singh grabbed four wickets for Punjab, but that wasn’t enough to stop KKR.

IPL 2015- Mumbai Indians


Batting first, Simmons-Sharma partnership of 119 runs after losing Patel early where Simmons scored 68 and Rohit Sharma’s 26-balls 50 led Mumbai to 202 in their 20 overs.

In return, CSK scored only 161, thanks to some excellent bowling. Smith was the only contributor for CSK, he scored 57, but that wasn’t enough to take CSK home.

IPL 2016- Sunrisers Hyderabad


Though Hyderabad started well with Warner’s 68, it was Ben Cutting’s 15 balls 39 that guided the team to 208.

Chasing the total, Gayle and Kohli gave the much-needed start for the team, but the pressure made them lose wickets in between, and eventually, they lost their way. Ben Cutting picked up two wickets as well, and he was the man of the match.

This season will always be remembered for Virat Kohli’s extraordinary run hunt.

IPL 2017- Mumbai Indians


Mumbai Indians became the first team to win three IPL titles as they pulled off a miracle victory by one run against now-defunct Rising Pune Super Giant.

This was one of the low-scoring thrillers. Mumbai Indians put only 129 on the board, thanks to some impressive bowling. While chasing the target, Rahane’s 44 and Steve Smith’s 51 wasn’t enough to take the team through, as once again the death bowling helped Mumbai Indians to get their hands on the trophy for the third time.

Related posts