President appoints five new Governors; TN BJP chief Tamilisai gets Telangana

President Ramnath Govind appointed four new Governors while making one transfer in Maharashtra, Himachal, Pradesh, Kerala, Telangana and Rajasthan on Sunday. 

The Tamil Nadu BJP Chief Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan has been appointed as the Governor for Telangana while former Uttarakhand BJP chief Bhagat Singh Koshyari gets Maharashtra. 

Bandaru Dattatrya, former Secunderabad MP, was appointed the Governor of Himachal Pradesh while Kalraj Mishra, who was the Governor of Himachal Pradeshwas transferred and appointed as Governor of Rajasthan.

Former Cabinet minister Arif Mohammad Khan was appointed the Governor of Kerala.

The appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices, said a statement from the President’s office.