Women Cricket

WBBL 2019/20- Squads and Preview | Adelaide Strikers

Captain- Suzie Bates
Last year result- Runners up

Squad- Darcie Brown, Suzie Bates (NZ), Sarah Coyte, Ellie Falconer, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Katie Mack, Tegan McPharlin, Tahlia McGrath, Annie O’Neil, Bridget Patterson, Madeline Penna, Alex Price, Megan Schutt, Stafanie Taylor (WI), Laura Wolvaardt (SA)

Changes in the squad from last year-
Left- Sophie Devine ( to Scorchers), Tabatha Saville
Signed this year- Madeline Penna (from Stars), Laura Wolvaardt

The departure of Sophie Devine is something huge and the team will be looking to fill the hole with Wolvaardt.

The team has few of the best players in the world currently, including Schutt, captain Bates and Taylor. The team will be leaning on them for runs and wickets.

While it’s difficult to win the Devine-size hole, Laura Wolvaardt is definitely one of the good additions to the team.

While Schutt’s initial spell will be something to look forward to, Strikers did find it difficult to keep things going for them with the ball in the middle-overs. While Bates is expected to bounce back, she did not enjoy Australia series recently. She had multiple cameos but couldn’t convert them to a big score.

Taylor, on the other hand, faced a similar issue during their tour to England recently.

However, considering the players’ experience, they should be getting back to scoring ways soon.

Related posts

Leave a Comment