Cricket Men Cricket

Who is the 1st Indian player to receive Men’s T20I cap? No, it’s not Dhoni!

Indian men played their first T20I against South Africa on December 1, 2006, at Johannesburg.

Batting first, South Africa made 126/9 in their 20 overs, thanks to Albie Morkel’s quick-fire 27. For India, Zaheer Khan and Ajit Agarkar picked up two wickets each.

In return, India managed to chase down the total in the final over of the match. Virender Sehwag gave the team a good start and despite a fumble in the middle, Dinesh Mongia’s 38 and Dinesh Karthik’s unbeaten 31, took team India home safe.

Now, talking about the caps, Since all the eleven players debuted on December 1, 2006, the caps were given based on the alphabetical order. Ajit Agarkar received the first cap becoming the first official player to represent India in Men’s T20I.

1 Ajit Agarkar

2 MS Dhoni

3 Harbhajan Singh

4 Dinesh Karthik

5 Zaheer Khan

6 Dinesh Mongia

7 Irfan Pathan

8 Suresh Raina

9 Virender Sehwag

10 S Sreesanth

11 Sachin Tendulkar

Related posts